Where in the World is Ms. D?

After completing a Bachelor’s of Science Degree with a major in both Early Childhood and Elementary Education, I took on some new jobs starting summer of 2015. I worked over the summer on the weather assist team at our larger State Farm Insurance branch here in town. I worked full time/40 hour weeks answering phone calls, taking copious notes, and scheduling tow jobs for the entirety of the summer.

When school started again, I began substitute teaching and working as a paraprofessional within my local district. I taught at a variety of schools at every edge of town. I gained a lot of new experiences while working in specialized classrooms as a paraprofessional. These months gave me new opportunities to familiarize myself with more schools and colleagues.

Over spring break 2016, I received a call for an interview at my (current) dream  elementary school. The interview was super inviting, being surrounded by teachers I know, and laid back. Of course I was still nervous, but it went great. Long story short…that job was given to someone else. However I did still end up at that dream school.

Since then I’ve been working at my (current) dream school as an ELL (English Language Learners) Instructional Aide. I never would have imagined I’d be in this position, but now I don’t want to leave. I’ve grown to learn new things while teaching old things to newcomers. They’ve taught me about their culture and language while I teach them English, grammar, spelling, and writing skills. It’s been a busy job and I work mainly in the hallways of the school, but I enjoy it. I’ve looked extensively into TESOL (Teaching English to Students of Other Languages) programs in order to get certified to be an ELL teacher. It’s a good possibility to diversify myself and extend my teaching abilities.

Leave a Reply

